swyambunath-info-of-nepalInfo of Nepal

Official Name: Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal
Location: South Asia
Capital: Kathmandu
Area: 147,1818 sq km (56,867 sq m)
Population: 26,620,809 (Nepal Census 2011 preliminary report)
Time: GMT +5.45
Language: Official language – Nepal (Spoken by 49%). About 100 regional & indigenous languges.
Religion: Hindu (81%), Buddhist (11%), Muslim (4%), and others (4%)

National Calendar : The Nepali Calendar is called Bikram Sambat(BS) and is a Lunar calendar, which is about 57 years ahead of the English calendar. The Nepali year begins in mid – April and is divided in to 12 months. A Nepali month generally falls in between two months of an English calendar (for example Baisakh month would start on April 14 and end on May 14). The 12 months are: Baisakh, Jeshtha, Asadh, Shrawan, Bhadra, Ashoj, Kartik, Mangshir, Poush, Magh, Falgun, and Chaitra (March-April). Saturday is the official weekly holiday.

Geography: A landlocked former kingdom sharing borders with India to the east, west and south, and Tibet to the north and northwest. The larger part of the country lies on the southern slope of the Himalayas and extends down from the highest peaks through the hills region to the plains known as the Terai bordering India.

Economy: GDP: $35.81 billion (2010 est); GDP Real Growth Rate: 4.6% (2010 est)

GDP Composition by Sector (2010 est): Agriculture: 32.8%; Industry: 14.4%; Service: 52.8%

Currency: Nepal Rupee (NPR, NRs) = 100 paisa. Notes are in denomination of Rs 1, 2, 5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 500 and 1000. Coins are in denominations of 10, 25, 50 paisa and Rs 1, 2, 5.